Up With the White and Gold 2019

Nearly 100 individuals and groups from across campus were honored this week at the annual Up With the White and Gold awards ceremony on Monday, April 15.

The celebration honors the achievements, hard work, and dedication of student leaders and student organizations and is co-hosted by the Division of Student Life and Presidents Council Governing Board.

The event highlights the significant role that student leadership and involvement plays on campus.

“From creating and building community and belonging, to winning local and international competitions, our students lead the Tech community in identifying and trailblazing ways to create the next entrepreneur, innovator, social change agent, big dreamer, and much more,” said Quinn Foster, student organizations coordinator in the Center for Student Engagement.

The event also honors faculty and staff and the role they play in student organizations, with a portion of the program dedicated to honoring outstanding employees and their work. The Presidents Council Governing Board also presents Burdell's Best and All-Star Organization awards. These honors are designed to encourage student organizations to attend events that are beneficial in the areas of organizational enrichment, teambuilding, networking, service, and collaboration. Organizations can earn points by participating in various events and activities in certain categories.

This year’s Up With the White and Gold honorees were:


Awarding Group: Division of Student Life

TECHcellence Award

Nydrel Jack

Mykala Sinclair

Matter of Degree Award

Alcohol and Other Drug Action Committee


Awarding Group: LEAD

Graduate Student Excellence Award for Leadership and Service

Emily Lustig

Emerging Student Leader Award

Olivia Amyette


Awarding Group: New Student & Transition Programs

Impact Award

Maddie Sibilia


Awarding Group: Women's Resource Center

Yvette Upton Empowerment Award

Renee Shelby

Make a Difference

Lauren Moye


Awarding Group: Health Initiatives

Certified Healthy Bronze

Phi Sigma Kappa

Yellow Jacket Roller Derby

Young Democratic Socialists of America

Certified Healthy Silver

GT Tour Guides

Muslim Students Association

Pride Alliance

Sigma Phi Epsilon

Theta Chi


Certified Healthy Gold

Delta Sigma Phi

Explore Living Learning Community

Kappa Alpha Theta



Awarding Group: SGA

Community and Constituent Engagement Award

Shekinah Hall

Committee of the Year Award

Resolutions, Undergraduate Legislative Reserve, Appropriations, and Legislative Strategies (RUALS) Committee

Student Council Member of the Year

Nathan Knauf

Georgia W. Braxton Award

Darryl J. Terry II


Awarding Group: ANAK Society

Semmes Scholarship (Winner)

Lorenzo Capasso

Semmes Scholarship (Honorable Mention)

Jenny Li

Jade Marcus


Award Group: Omicron Delta Kappa

Joseph Pettit Memorial Award

Aarushi Khajuria

John Hannabach Achievement Award

William Harrer

ODK Senior Salute Award

Halle Bryan


Awarding Group: Society of Women Engineers

Georgette P. Burdell Award

Mahati Vavilala

Outstanding Engineer Award

Isabella Sanders

GEAR Award

Salmata Barrie


Awarding Group: Student Alumni Association

Most Spirited Student

Sarah Liu


Awarding Group: Interfraternity Council

Outstanding Scholastic Programming

Alpha Sigma Phi

Educational Programming Award

Alpha Tau Omega

Philanthropy / Community Service Award

Beta Theta Pi

Leadership Award

Beta Theta Pi

Brother of the Year

Jack Rager

James E. Dull Best Overall Fraternity Award

Beta Theta Pi


Awarding Group: Student Foundation

J. Erskine Love Jr. Philanthropy Award

Caroline Wu


Awarding Group: Collegiate Panhellenic Council

Alpha Impact Award

Molly-Kate Gavello

Best New Member Award

Brigit Joyce

Outstanding Executive Member Award

Emelia Funnell

Judith Prity Award

Carole Kennedy

Philanthropy and Community Service Award

Phi Mu

Chapter Relations Award

Kappa Alpha Theta

Panhellenic Spirit Award

Phi Mu

Chapter of Excellence Award

Zeta Tau Alpha

Outstanding Community Service Award

Lillianne Daniels


Awarding Group: Multicultural Greek Council

Most Involved

Delta Phi Lambda

Most Philanthropic

Sigma Beta Rho

Best Philanthropy Project

Delta Sigma Theta

Best Educational Program

Delta Sigma Theta


Awarding Group: National Panhellenic Council

Best Collaborative Program

Phi Beta Sigma

Delta Sigma Theta

Pinnacle Award

Delta Sigma Theta


Awarding Group: Order of Omega

Greek Man of the Year

Ian Campbell

Greek Woman of the Year

Heather Smith


Awarding Group: PCGB

All-Star Organizations:


Alpha Phi Alpha

Ramblin' Reck Club



Theta Chi

Omega Phi Alpha


Pride Alliance

Burdell's Best:

Best Overall Event:

Residence Hall Association

Ramblin' Reck Club

Best Collaborative Event

Graduate Student Government Association

Most Creative Campus Outreach

Georgia Tech Student Alumni Association

Best New Organization

Boxing Club

Best Ongoing Service Project

Alternative Service Breaks

Best Short-Term Service Project

Omega Phi Alpha

Most Improved Organization

Ramblin' Rocket Club

Best Organizational Culture

Outdoor Recreation at Georgia Tech

Most Impactful President

Luke Bumgardner

Most Creative Fundraiser

Society of Women Engineers

Organization of the Year

Swim Club

Society of Women Engineers

India Club at Georgia Tech